Brits will be charged to enter some EU countries


Other countries include Italy, Austria, Germany and more

Travel costs for Britons wishing to holiday in Europe have been pushed back until 2023.

The original date for popular tourist destinations in the Schengen area to start charging travel fees was September 2022, but that hasn’t been pushed back a year.

Portugal, Spain, France and Greece were among the countries set to introduce the €7 fee, which will now come into force in November 2023.

Since Brexit, which was decided after a referendum in 2016, Britons have been allowed to move freely within the EU at no extra cost, thanks to EU freedom of movement.

But from November next year, Britons wishing to travel to Europe will now have to complete additional forms before entering and pay the €7 fee.

This applies to countries in the Schengen area, which has about 26 countries. A simple online application is enough to participate next year.

After completing the online application form, the system will perform checks where, in the vast majority of cases, users will receive travel authorization.

In some cases, where additional checks will need to be carried out on a traveller, the issuance of a travel authorization may take up to 30 days.

Here are the countries of the Schengen area:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxemburg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Swiss

All of these countries will require forms to be completed and charge fees to enter their countries from the end of next year.

The exact date has not yet been set, but we now know that it will be in November 2023.


Comments are closed.