The lockdowns are lifted, but where can I travel? Here is the latest information on each state’s border restrictions.



As the vaccination rate in Australia skyrockets, local restrictions for areas affected by COVID are easing, as are some restrictions at state borders.

As of the start of this week, travel has become possible from all parts of New South Wales to Victoria, with those vaccinated not even needing to be tested before entering the community.

However, if you’re confused by the mishmash of border rules around states and territories, we’ve compiled a guide on who can enter each state and territory.

Keep in mind that this article defines who can enter, so if you are planning a return trip, be sure to check your home state or territory as well as your destination, to make sure you don’t have to put quarantined in both directions. .

These rules are only a guide and may not correspond to your situation if, for example, you are in close contact with a potentially infectious person.

Choose your destination:

Who can travel to New South Wales?

Most of the country can now travel to NSW without restrictions, but all jurisdictions have rules in place for people who have stayed in the state.

Most of the country has restrictions on people coming from New South Wales.(ABC News: Gavin Coote)

The only state from which New South Wales has restricted entry is Victoria, which has been listed as an affected area.

Anyone entering New South Wales from Victoria must complete a declaration form and follow home stay rules for 14 days since leaving Victoria.

They are still allowed to leave their homes for certain restricted reasons, such as obtaining food and services, travel for work or education if you cannot do so at home, medical care, vaccination and exercise.

Exemptions apply for residents of certain border communities.

Who can travel to Victoria?

People currently in Queensland, SA, WA, Tasmania, and the NT are all allowed to travel to Victoria, but those states also have rules in place for people returning from Garden State.

Victoria has designated ACT and the greater Sydney area of ​​New South Wales as Orange Zones.

This means that fully vaccinated people who have been in these areas in the last 14 days are allowed to enter with a Service Victoria permit and go about their business (respecting any local restrictions, of course).

A tram crossing Melbourne's CBD
Residents of NSW are allowed to visit Melbourne if they adhere to local restrictions.(ABC News: Crystalyn Brown)

People who are not fully vaccinated will need to be tested and self-isolate until a negative result is returned.

People from parts of New South Wales outside of Greater Sydney can enter Victoria without restriction if they have a border pass.

Who can come to ACT?

The ACT has closed its border to all of Victoria and much of New South Wales, outside of surrounding postcode areas in the southeast corner of the state.

People who have been in Victoria or non-exempt parts of NSW in the 14 days prior to entry are required to complete an exemption form and self-quarantine upon arrival in ACT.

When is international travel to and from Australia permitted?

Non-residents need an exemption before arriving.

The ACT has designated “approved border post codes” in southern New South Wales, which allow entry and exit of these areas without quarantine.

From November 1, ACT residents will be able to visit Sydney and the rest of New South Wales without having to self-quarantine upon their return.

Who can travel to Queensland?

Queensland lists NSW, Victoria and ACT as COVID-19 hotspots, obstructing travel from the southeast corner of mainland Australia.

There are different circumstances for border communities in northern NSW.

People coming from a hotspot are not allowed to enter Queensland unless they are a resident, relocate or have an exemption.

Space to play or pause, M to mute, left and right arrows to search, up and down arrows for volume.
Play the video.  Length: 2 minutes 53 seconds

Recycle the waste that COVID-19 has created(Emilie Terzon)

Anyone allowed entry must self-quarantine for 14 days.

People from the rest of Australia can enter Queensland freely, as long as they complete a Queensland Pass.

The Queensland government plans to allow all fully vaccinated domestic travelers to enter the state without quarantine by December 17.

Who can travel to WA?

Currently, residents of Tasmania, South Australia and the Northern Territory can travel to WA with a G2G pass and not have to self-quarantine.

As of Friday, Queensland is expected to join those states as classified as “very low risk,” the only classification that allows interstate travelers to enter Washington state without quarantine.

Perth city skyline at night, with bright colored lights above the foreshore
Western Australia has some of the toughest border measures in the country.(Unsplash: George Bakos)

However, this was announced before Queensland announced a single case of COVID-19 on the Gold Coast earlier today, so it’s not clear if that may change.

ACT is classified as medium risk, which means people can only enter with approval and must self-quarantine for 14 days after arrival.

Victoria and NSW are classified as “at extreme risk,” meaning that “exemptions are limited to Commonwealth, state and specialist functions only,” and anyone permitted to enter must enter hotel quarantine.

Who can travel to South Africa?

People from NT, Queensland, Tasmania and Western Australia can enter South Africa without quarantine.

Travel to South Africa from Victoria, NSW or ACT is not permitted with the exception of certain exemptions including essential travelers, residents of South Africa returning home, and people fleeing violence domesticated.

Exempt travelers must quarantine themselves as directed (at home for essential travelers or as directed for other categories) and submit to a COVID-19 test on days 1, 5 and 13 of their quarantine time.

Who can travel to Tasmania?

Tasmania is open to people from Queensland, WA, South Australia and NT.

NSW, ACT and Victoria have all been declared high-risk areas by Tasmania and are subject to travel restrictions.

Travel is not permitted for people who have visited these areas within the 14 days prior to arrival in Tasmania, unless approved as an essential traveler.

Approved individuals must undergo hotel quarantine, unless otherwise eligible for Tasmania’s home quarantine program.

Who can travel to the NT?

Residents of Queensland, Tasmania, SA and Washington State are all allowed to enter the NT.

NSW, Victoria and ACT have all been declared hotspots, meaning only returning residents will be allowed entry.

Travelers entering the Northern Territory from these areas will be required to enter supervised quarantine for 14 days at their own expense.

Loading form …



Leave A Reply